Illinois State University
Illinois State University
Jump over the site's masthead's navigation bar.
Jump over the site's left-side navigation bar.
columnTextImage goes here, make sure levelTwoImage.css is attached in header

Student Organizations

Parks and Recreation Society - PARS

The Parks and Recreation Society (PARS) is a professional student organization for those interested in the park and recreation administration field. Members develop professional skills through conference attendance, volunteerism, and networking. Membership is open to all students.    

Club members attend annual state and national conferences, host professional guest speakers, engage in social activities, and assist with humanitarian projects such as Habitat for Humanity and Bloomington's Harvest Bloom Festival.

Club Sponsors: Ms. Lindsey Nicholson (309) 438-5972


Rho Phi Lambda Honor Society

Rho Phi Lambda is a national organization that recognizes students and honorary professionals in our field for their excellence in academics, co-curricular and volunteer activities, and contributions to our field.

For membership in Rho Phi Lambda, a student must show evidence of academic excellence in scholarship, leadership, and service to campus or community. They must be in the upper 15% of their class or have a minimum GPA of 3.2, whichever is higher; have earned a B or higher in KNR 170, 171, 270, and 271; and be recommended by the RPA faculty. Eligible students will be notified about the application process and, if selected, the induction procedures. The induction ceremony typically occurs at the close of the fall semester.

For more information contact the Rho Phi Lambda Advisor: Dr. Barbara Schlatter at

2017 Inductees

Maren Anderson, Secretary
Olivia Butts – Honorary Member
Yun Chang – Honorary Member
David Curnock
Holly Dix
Rocco Giase
Nadine Hernandez
Casey Jefferson
Bethany Kadivar
Janae Klimczak
Kaley Levine
Sydney McLoda
Brittany Mikutis
Kelcee Miller, Vice President
Kelsie Montana
Mary Mucci
Natalie Nelson, Secretary
Carissa Rojas
Samantha Rupkey
Riley Spreadbury, Treasurer
Jordan Sronkoski
Derek Wegman
Anna Wright, President

2017 Rho Phi Lambda Inductees

2016 Inductees to Rho Phi Lambda

Ethan Blumhorst
Chris Brooks
Courtney Conway, Treasurer
Shelby Cruse
Jamie Cyrkiel
Cade Fogerty
Sydney Goodin
Cayla Greenfield
Gianna Iovino
Brittany Johns
Kelly Koppen
Lexi Leneau, President
Leah Levin
Mia Leyba, Secretary
Ariel Michalek
Nicole Pasquesi
Valerie Ruiz
Kali Sanders
Cami Shaw
Kelly Shook
Rachel Smith, Honorary Member
Taylor Spivey
Marissa Wayne
Robert Yonkee, Historian
Kari Zapalik, Vice President

2016 Rho Phi Lambda Inductees

2015 Inductees to Rho Phi Lambda
Morgan Brandner, Historian
Dylan Broombaugh, President
Breanne Dunn
Jennifer Gaeding
Jennifer Laio, Treasurer
Lyndsey Lomelino
Tracy Mainieri, Honorary member
Ashlee O'Hern
Mary Perhai, Secretary
Matt Schiefelbein
Taylor Witter, Vice President

Rho Phi Lambda 2015 Inductees


2014 Inductees to Rho Phi Lambda

Katelyn Baker, President
Blake Dunk
Ryan Ferguson
Breida Hill
Zach Johnson, Treasurer
Andrew Lombardo
Ashley Lovell, Secretary
Carolyn Malone
Kate Morgan
Julie Morgan
Rachael Oprondek
Emily Orrick
Emily Power
Kayla Richardson
Colton Scott
Tyler Tester, Historian
Zach Wallace
Kathy Wischhusen, Vice-President
Rachael Zucker

2013 Inductees to Rho Phi Lambda (see image below)

Amanda Boise, Secretary
Jesse Brownstein
Teal Clark
Val Curtis, Honorary Member
Catherine Favale, Treasurer
Josh Girdaukas, Historian
Cameron Hubbs
Chelsey Kaiser, Vice-President
Cory Koelker
Brian O'Malley
Katelyn Snelton
Lindsay Waldman
Abby Weber, President

2013 Rho Phil Lambda Induction Ceremony

2012 Inductees to Rho Phi Lambda (see image below)

Rachael Bennett
Molly Cinker
Kyle Donegan, Treasurer
Jennifer Ewan
Megan Glenn
Colin Howard
Allison Hudson
Nicole LaRue, Historian
Jessica Lazzara, Secretary
Whitney Lingafelter, Vice-President
Lindsey Nicholson, Honorary member
Dawn Sanner, Honorary member
Kelly Schroeder
Julie Shamo
Maya Strong, President
Jared Weller
Stephanie Yarr
Jamie Zhe

2012 Rho Phi Lambda Inductees


2011 Inductees into Rho Phi Lambda (see image below)
Jamie Haeger Angell, Treasurer
Emily Boxer
Colleen Daniels
Kaitley Christine Davis, President
Brianne Ghere
Michelle Suzanne Jacobs 
Michael Jasper
Gina Keyzer
Zachary Alan Klaus, Vice-President
Kristine Kooi
Ashlei Mrnak
Katelin Sheppard
Dale Edward Specht, Secretary
Emily Sandra Verrilli
Jon Vidovic, Historian 

Rho Phi Lambda, Fall 2011 Induction Ceremony

2011 Spring Rho Phi Lambda Inductees

2010 Inductees

Brittany E. Beeth, Treasurer
Stephanie Blindt
Meaka Brents
Stephanie M. Fester
Kyle Funaro, Vice President
Elizabeth G. Fryzel
Megan Haig
Payton Hobart
Britta A. House, President
Sarah Johnson, Historian
Kyle L. Madeja
Olivia Myers
Margaret A. Seletos
Amanda R. Spiekhout, Secretary

2009 Inductees into Rho Phi Lambda

Allison Cole
Kristen Cox
Brittany Dellorto
Kimberly Henson
David Hopwood
Shay Hughes, President
Kathryn Jablonski
Scott Krapf, Secretary
Beth Kuzera
Megan Lootens
Katie MacKay, Vice-President
Lauren Marshall
Maura McGreevy
Andy Norton
Heather Richardson
Christian Santoj
Becca Schraeder, Treasurer
Colin Stephens, Historian
Mallory Waliczek

Faculty Members

Dr. Becky Achens
Ms. Olivia Butts
Dr. Brent Beggs
Dr. Yun Chang
Dr. Dan Elkins
Ms. Sherri Hildebrand
Dr. Amy Hurd
Dr. Tracy Mainieri
Dr. Mike Mulvaney
Ms. Lindsey Nicholson
Dr. Barbara Schlatter
Ms. Rachel Smith
Dr. Clint Warren

Stay Connected

Facebook Twitter

Kinesiology and Recreation
Campus Box 5120
250 McCormick Hall
Normal, Il 61790-5120
Phone: (309) 438-8661
Fax: (309) 438-5559

© 2015 Illinois State UniversityPrivacy StatementIdentity StandardsAppropriate Use Policy